Medical Marijuana Patients Can Now Smoke Cannabis in Florida

In 2016, more than 70 percent of Florida residents voted in favor of medical marijuana in the state. But when then-Gov. Rick Scott signed it into law in 2017, he banned smokable cannabis throughout the state, making only concentrates such as capsules, vapes, tinctures, and topicals available to patients.

But on March 19, 2019, Gov. Ron DeSantis signed legislation that repealed the ban made his predecessor, thereby legalizing smokable cannabis in the state. When he took office in January, DeSantis urged state lawmakers to send a bill that would legalize medical marijuana by March.

According to the new law, medical marijuana patients can obtain up to 2.5 ounces of flower every 35 days. Although patients who are younger than 18 years old can smoke medicinal pot, they must have a terminal condition and receive a second opinion from a pediatrician.

The bill also requires patients to provide informed consent by signing a consent form that acknowledges the health risks of smoking cannabis. Keep in mind, patients are not allowed to consume medical marijuana in public or at private businesses that uphold a ban on smoking cigarettes.

If you are not a medical marijuana user and you are found in possession of fewer than 20 grams of pot in Florida, it is considered a first-degree misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of up to one year and a maximum $1,000 fine.

If you have been arrested for drug possession in Pensacola, contact the Morris Firm and schedule a case evaluation today.

Categories: