A Firm That Will Protect Your Rights And Zealously Defend You

Felony & Misdemeanor Attorney in Pensacola

Dedicated Legal Service No Matter the Charges

The State of Florida classifies crimes in two major categories: Misdemeanors and felonies. Though both are significant offenses, misdemeanor crimes are the "lesser" of the two categories while felonies are more serious. If you have been charged with either, you will need a skilled Pensacola criminal defense attorney on your side as soon as possible.

Contact our criminal lawyer in Pensacola for representation after felony or misdemeanor charges. Call us at (850) 583-9112.

Felonies in Escambia County

Handcuffs - Pensacola Felony & Misdemeanor Defense

A felony offense in Florida is punishable by more than 1 year in state prison and will subject an offender to increased monetary fines. Being convicted of a felony charge will result in the loss of certain civil rights, such as the ability to possess and own a firearm and the ability to vote.

In Florida, there are five degrees of felonies. Every felony has a designated level and each level has a designated number of points. These points are inputted into a score sheet, which is used in criminal proceedings to establish the range of the possible sentence.

The five degrees of felonies in Florida from the most to least serious, are:

  • Capital felony: Punishable by death or life in prison. Examples include premeditated murder, capital sexual battery, and capital drug trafficking.
  • Life felony: Punishable by a term of imprisonment for life or by a term of years not exceeding life imprisonment. The maximum fine is $15,000. Life felonies include certain sex offenses where the victim is younger than 12, first-degree murder, and certain offenses involving the use of a weapon or firearm.
  • First-degree felony: Punishable by a maximum of 30 years in state prison, a fine of $10,000, or both. Some examples of first-degree felonies are kidnapping, certain sexual battery offenses, robbery with a weapon, and burglary with assault or battery.
  • Second-degree felony: Punishable by a maximum of 15 years in state prison, a $10,000 fine, or both. Examples of second-degree felonies include possession of a controlled substance with intent sell, manufacture or deliver, lewd and lascivious battery, where the victim is older than 12 but younger than 16 years old, dealing in stolen property, DUI manslaughter, and an array of grand-theft chargers where the value of the stolen property exceeds $20,000.
  • Third-degree felony: Punishable by a maximum of five years in state prison, a $5,000 fine, or both. Some examples include aggravated assault, child abuse without great bodily harm, possession of a controlled substance, and grand theft.

​​​​​​Depending on your criminal history and the crime being prosecuted, there are also certain sentencing enhancements that can apply.

Some example of these enhancements include:

  • Habitual felony offender (HFO)
  • Violent career criminal (VCC)
  • Habitual violent felony offenders (HVFO)
  • Prison releasee reoffender (PRO)

If the government has filed notice seeking one of these sentencing enhancements or if you are concerned that you may qualify for one of these enhancements, contact the Morris Firm today. Our Pensacola felony attorney can help you.

Misdemeanor Crimes

Though less severe than felonies, misdemeanor crimes can still be punished with hefty fines and jail time. Misdemeanors are further broken down into two categories: first-degree and second-degree misdemeanors. First-degree misdemeanors have longer terms of imprisonment and higher fines than second-degree offenses.

There also are some misdemeanor offenses that carry a maximum period of incarceration exceeding that of a second-degree misdemeanor but less than that of a first-degree misdemeanor, such as DUI and BUI first offense and reckless driving.

The consequences of a misdemeanor range in severity.

Conviction of a first-degree misdemeanor can lead to:

  • A term of imprisonment of no more than 1 year.
  • A fine of no more than $1,000.

Conviction of a second-degree misdemeanor can lead to:

  • A term of imprisonment of no more than 60 days.
  • A fine of no more than $500.

Even these penalties, though less harsh than felony penalties, can be a huge burden on you and your family. Allow the Morris Firm to represent you so that you can seek a favorable resolution to your case.

Contact the Morris Firm for representation after felony or misdemeanor charges. Call us at (850) 583-9112.

What Our Former Clients Are Saying

  • “After first meeting with Brandon, I was much more at ease with my case. ”

    Jessica
  • “He works hard to ensure his clients get the best outcome possible.”

    John
  • “Right away he eased my fears and made me feel confident that we can beat this case or get it resolved with minimal punishment.”

    James
  • “He will always be my attorney.”

    Laura
  • “I would highly recommend him to anyone.”

    Zachary
  • “Brandon Morris has a thorough understanding of criminal law, has extensive courtroom experience and is a passionate advocate for his clients.”

    Former Client
  • “Brandon is knowledgeable, understanding, compassionate about his clients, and has reasonable fees.”

    Rachel
  • “Brandon is committed to getting the best result for his clients.”

    Former Client