A Firm That Will Protect Your Rights And Zealously Defend You

Assault & Battery Attorney in Pensacola

Protecting Your Rights in Escambia County

Policeman cuffing a criminal - Assault and Battery Defense in Florida

Although often grouped together, assault and battery are two separate crimes carrying different punishments. Assault is a threat of force while battery is the actual physical force itself – any unwanted touch, strike, or other physical contact is considered battery. Battery can be sexual in nature.

The Pensacola assault & battery attorney at the Morris Firm has an extensive knowledge of the state and federal laws regarding these crimes. Our firm can apply this knowledge and our years of experience to defend your case.

Contact us to learn more about how our attorneys can defend you.

Common defenses against assault and battery charges include:

  • Lack of intent
  • Contact was consensual
  • Self-defense or defense of someone or something else
  • Contact was an accident

If we take on your case, we will thoroughly review your story and your situation before crafting an aggressive and effective defense strategy.

Assault Charges in Pensacola

In Florida, you can only be convicted of assault if the threat of harm genuinely caused the victim to fear being harmed. The offender must have conveyed a sincere ability to actually carry out his or her threat.

The types of assault and their respective penalties are as follows:

  • Simple assault: A second-degree misdemeanor with up to 60 days in prison and a maximum fine of $500
  • Aggravated assault: A third-degree felony with up to five years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000

Battery in Florida

Once an offender has made physical contact with a victim, the crime is now considered battery. To convict someone of battery, the prosecution must prove that the act was intentional and performed without the victim’s consent.

The three types of battery and their respective penalties are:

  • Simple battery: A first-degree misdemeanor with up to one year in prison and a maximum $1,000 fine
  • Felony battery: A third-degree felony with up to five years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines
  • Aggravated battery: A second-degree felony with up to 15 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000

In Florida, repeat offenders or previously convicted felons may be susceptible to increased sanctions on top of these maximum penalties. With a skilled Pensacola battery attorney on your side, you are in a good position to avoid maximum sentences and obtain a positive resolution.

Request a consultation with the Pensacola assault defense lawyer at Morris Firm to discuss your case and see how Brandon Morris can help you. Call (850) 583-9112 today.

What Our Former Clients Are Saying

  • “He will always be my attorney.”

    Laura
  • “I would highly recommend him to anyone.”

    Zachary
  • “Brandon Morris has a thorough understanding of criminal law, has extensive courtroom experience and is a passionate advocate for his clients.”

    Former Client
  • “Right away he eased my fears and made me feel confident that we can beat this case or get it resolved with minimal punishment.”

    James
  • “Brandon is knowledgeable, understanding, compassionate about his clients, and has reasonable fees.”

    Rachel
  • “He works hard to ensure his clients get the best outcome possible.”

    John
  • “Brandon is committed to getting the best result for his clients.”

    Former Client
  • “After first meeting with Brandon, I was much more at ease with my case. ”

    Jessica